Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour
×

More from deviantART



Details

Submitted on
April 13, 2012
Link
Thumb

Stats

Views
614
Favourites
2 (who?)
Comments
31
×

6/1/12- Updates, contests, features, and reviews

Journal Entry: Fri Apr 13, 2012, 6:55 PM


Well, welcome to my journal. I know some stuff, right?


Requests/Commissions/Trades list & Rules

:iconrequestfriendsonly::icontradesask::iconcollabsask::iconpointcommissionsopen::icongiftsfriendsonly:

Request/Commission/Collab Rules:

:bulletblue: I'll draw whatever you want, even if it has to do with something I've never heard of

:bulletblue: All points for commissions should go in my donation pool. This is not necessarily a requirement, but I like it that way

:bulletblue: I refuse to draw extremely graphic sexual content. Some nudity and sexual content that is not too graphic is allowed, though.

:bulletblue: If you are requesting a picture of a certain person/character/animal/etc. please provide me with a reference of what they look like (if any). I will not copy the picture-as you know, I am against that- I'm just using it to know what they look like. The more references that you are able to provide me with, the better. Especially if I am not familiar with the character.

:bulletblue: I have a right to turn down a commission or request

:bulletblue: If you rush me on anything, i will not complete it, and if it's a commission, I will not give you a refund.

Are we clear?

To do list:
If I am missing anyone, please comment and I will put you on the list ASAP

Haven't started: :bulletred:
In the process of sketching: :bulletyellow:
Need to color/edit: :bulletpurple:
In the process of coloring/editing: :bulletblack:
Done! : :bulletgreen:

:iconkaylenz: Elloit and Ada from Pandora Hearts :bulletblack:
:iconkitsuneyin: A digital painting of their version of the angel of death :bulletyellow:

Summer and Site Updates

Well, well, well.
Guess who's free?

:boogie:

Hell yeah, bitches! After 180 days of being a freshman, I upgraded to sophomore today. YES.
Exams week went over pretty well; I got up at six, went to school and did two exams a day, and left at ten forty-five. Not to mention that the exams were pretty easy, and I had finished one early, and exempted another, so I had an easy, breezy week. I treated myself to a cheese pastry and an iced green tea from Panera.
But I couldn't stop there! No, no, no, quite the contrary. I got online, and bought my first premium. Score!
I had made quite a bit of points off of selling prints, commissions, and adoptables, so I treated myself with a premium. I had more than enough for a full-year, but i decided to start small with a three month premium. You know, to see if I like it at all. So far, I'm feeling pretty pimp, and might buy myself a full-year come the end of July.
Even. Better. Every shred of my eleven-year-old weeaboo self is gone. Guess who finally got to change her overly-embarassing user name? ME.
I tossed around a bunch of username ideas with myself and a couple friend, most of which referencing Lewis Carol's Alice in Wonderland and Victor Hugo's Hunchback of Notre Dame. I finally went with Following-The-Rabbit; it encompasses everything about Alice in Wonderland to me not to mention that it sounds pretty cool to me</sub>.
So, what's ahead of me this summer? Good question. We're having what my step-father likes to call a "stay-cation"; It's where we don't really leave the state as a family over the summer, and mostly go to events going on in our city, or our state. Since I'm genetically engineered to stay inside, and even more so to function in groups, I'm taking this advantage of this opportunity. I'm currently making a summer reading and summer watch list, and I'm anticipating a few parties with my irl posse and bros.
But you don't care about that, right?

This leads up to my final update: my contest.
It's pretty easy, and may involve some fan art, and your OCs. not just mine this time around.
So far, the grand prize winner gets a chibi, a digitally colored painting, 100:points:, a llama, and a month-long feature from me, but I'm adding 5:points: for every entry I get (50:points: for every ten entries), and I'm hoping to get prize donations as well.
Heres the link to the contest, so good luck, friends! : Following-The-Rabbit.deviantar…

That's it for the summer updates! Time for some promised gifts.

Features

These are features that I promised to a couple people. They are kind of delayed, so I really apologize, but, hey, a feature is a feature.
I'm fine with featuring anyone, so just ask.

:iconjust-a-bud: - Just-a-Bud is one of my newer friends on deviantART, and a pretty talented artist. she specializes in digital art, but she shows varied talent in her traditional art as well. Bottom line, just go visit her page; she's a really nice person, and a great artist. What more do you want from her? JUST VISIT HER, DAMN IT.
Sora full version by Just-a-BudFreebie 3 Winter by Just-a-BudCarrot? by Just-a-Bud

:iconwe-wil-rock-you: - we-wil-rock-you is an anime-based group that I've been a member of since fit first opened. It sadly hasn't had much activity or support, so I figured I'd help out the mods. As I said before, it's an anime-based group, but it's open to any and all skill levels. Also, with it's really-chill rules, it's easy to get exposure and chat with other artists. Overall, just a really great group that I believe deserves some support from more users.

Movie Reviews, HO!

You. You, my friend, have no idea how many movies I'm dragged myself through lately.
Over the past two weeks, I'm seen films capable of putting me in tears, giving me fear that makes me cower under my covers with the lights on, and make me want to absolutely puke. They're not all horror movies by any means, in fact one of them is a Disney flick, but these are just gems for different reasons.
So. What am I waiting for?
Lets get this show on the road! Time to absolutely bomb you guys with movie reviews.

Chernobyl Diaries

Six tourists hire an extreme tour guide who takes them to the abandoned city Pripyat, the former home to the workers of the Chernobyl nuclear reactor. During their exploration, they soon discover they are not alone.

My Review

When I first saw trailers for this movie, I got really excited. I've read a lot about Chernobyl in the past years, and when I first saw the pictures of the place, my first thought was "Huh, that looks like it would make a good horror movie".
Imagine my surprise a year later when I saw the trailers. So, I got my Airheads Rainbow-beryy belts, an icee, a pound of popcorn, and suited up for oe of the best-looking horror movies I'd seen in a while.
Did it live up to my expectations?
Kind of yes, kind of no.
The characters, while not written too well, are pretty relatable; we all know people like those in the movie. The main complaint is that the characters in this movie are written horribly, but really, they're not that bad by normal standards. While most horror movie characters you are dying to have them killed off, you want these people to live. You feel bad when you see one of them get hurt, killed, etc.
Another major complaint is the way the story is written in general. Again, its pretty good. The dialogue was believable, the story was good, it covered everything and left no lot hole un-filled, and lead up to a pretty great ending.
Enough of the bad stuff, though. What's so good about this movie? Well, it's suspense techniques are wonderful, it's visuals are unforgettable, it supplies fear without jump scares, and of course a creative and interesting storyline.
My suggestion? Do some reading on Chernobyl before you see this movie. It unfortunately doesn't go into detail on the disaster that took place, so take your time and read one or two short articles before you go.
So, if you're planning on seeing it, you're in for a treat. Does it have flaws? Yes, but this was the director's first full-length feature. The only other experience he had was in visuals. So, give him some credit, put on your gas mask, and get to Chernobyl Diaries; a film I assure you that you won't regret seeing.

My Rating

:star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty:

Piranha 3D/3DD

Piranha 3D: After a sudden underwater tremor sets free scores of the prehistoric man-eating fish, an unlikely group of strangers must band together to stop themselves from becoming fish food for the area's new razor-toothed residents.
Piranha 3DD: After the events at Lake Victoria, the pre-historic school of blood-thirsty piranhas make their way into a newly opened watermark.

My Review

I want those three hours of my life back.
But, sadly, I can't.

Why am I putting them in the same review? Neither of them deserve their own.
Why? They both have the same fucking problems.

Piranha 3D Idiot characters, stupid situations, even stupider attempts at "dark comedy", and a plot that solely relies on tits and gore.
Piranha 3DD: Even bigger idiot characters,  absolutely horrendously stupid attempts at comedy, a plot that solely relies on tits and gore yet has little connection to the first film at all, and the Hoff.
THE FUCKING HOFF.
I'll get to that later, though. While the stupidity of the characters and the gore scenes in the original Piranha 3D are laughably bad, it's hard to tell if it's trying to take itself seriously or not. Not only that, but it's hard to laugh at a movie that really isn't bad. It's just a sloppy, bloody, stupidity-smothered mess. What really depresses me is that this movie is directed by Alexandre Aja. FUCKING AJA; the director of The Hills Have Eyes and Mirrors, which are two of the greatest horror movies I've ever seen. What brought him to direct this piece of shit? Aja, seriously. You are a talented director. Use that talent on horror movies that fucking matter.
THIS. BEING. SAID.
A sequel was made, and was recently released in the US. Using my super-pirate-powers, though, I was able to watch before that it due to it being released in the UK.
Why did I do that?
Look, just take my description from above, and multiply it by shit.
Time for a history lesson. The director of Piranha 3DD has only made one other horror movie, and two sequels to that horror movie. A movie known as Feast, which is about people in a bar getting eaten by monsters.
Yeah, I'm sure we're in good hands now.
At least Aja's version was laughably bad, and you had a feeling that he wasn't trying t make it serious. With this abomination, you're slapping your forehead over and over, thinking "WHERE THE FUCK DID THEY GO WRONG? MORE LIKE, WHERE THE FUCK DID THEY GO RIGHT?". It's that bad. There's a dead cow that farts out piranha eggs, a children's waterpark that no has "water-certified" strippers and a crotch-cam, characters with absolutely no intelligence whatsoever, and a piranha crawling up a woman's vagina, only to chomp on the head of her lover's penis, which makes him think the only logical decision is to chop his dick off.
Not to mention we have David Hasselhoff, who is just the punchline of film making. I'm serious, that man will sign onto any role, and this film is just proof.
Look, don't waste you're time watching either of these movies.

Why? They're so god damned horrible, I don't even want to give it a rating.
Wait, I have an idea.

My Rating

HORRIBAFUCKUSSUPERCRAPAFUCKARIFICEXPIALLABULLSHIT

...There we go!

Megan is Missing

Fictional drama based on actual events, about 2 teen-age girls who encounter an internet predator.

My Review

Let me first say that I usually dislike found-footage films.
I despise Paranormal Activity, The Last Exorcism was pretty badly written (yet still interesting), I hope that the fans of The Blair Witch Project open their eyes soon, and I can't say I've seen Cannibal Holocaust, but as the film that started the genre, I hope to god it lives up to the hype.

This movie...
I...
Oh, Jesus Christ.

Let's start with the basics. This is a movie you will only watch once. Not because it's bad, but because you won't have to. It's so disturbing, so unbelievably unforgettable with it's themes, you'll never have to watch it twice, since you'll always remember it.

I honestly don't want to say anything else about this movie, because I would spoil it too much. The acting of the minor characters is really hammed up, which can be really distracting, but everything else is great. one of the major complaints is that how these teens act in their situations is unrealistic, but that's because the're not a modern-day teen (for the most part). What this movie displays is the underbelly of the teenage population, which is becoming all too common these days. It accomplishes so much without music, chase scenes, murder scenes, low-budget effects, and everything of the like. With it's themes, visuals, and shock value, I believe it's something every teenager should see. It's a literal wake-up call in a world dominated by online-connection. Don't miss your opportunity to watch this found-footage masterpiece!

My Rating

:star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star-half::star-empty::star-empty:

The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence

Inspired by the fictional Dr. Heiter, disturbed loner Martin dreams of creating a 12-person centipede and sets out to realize his sick fantasy.

My Review

Lets start with some history M-F'ers!

Tom Six, the Director of the original Human Centipede has been waiting for this. Originally, he had so many ideas, he didn't think he could fit them all into one movie. Because of this, he split them up into three separate movie plans, not sequels of one another, but still connected, "like a centipede".

I enjoyed the first Human Centipede; it had great visuals, good acting, a creative story, and a badass villain. Now, imagine that, and suck out all of the likability. What do you get?
You get a disturbing as fuck gore fest about a guy masturbating with sandpaper to his medical monstrosity.
That's it.
This is literal torture porn. There is no story besides him making his centipede, tapping to it, raping to it with barbed wire around his dick, giving them laxatives and watching them crap in each others' mouths, and watching them die and escape one by one.

Granted, the main character is pretty well written. He's not just disturbed, he has reasons. Reasons which I do not want to go into detail about. But that's it. Everyone else is either just annoying or an a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, i, j, k, or l.

It's films like this, and Piranha that make me lose faith in horror films, and make their directors look like idiots.
Tom, I know you're talented. you showed me that in your original Centipede film. If you're reading this, don't make it your goal to just make it more disturbing according to your ideas. Make it good! I know you can do that! Now, go forth, you genius psycho, you! :dance:

My Rating

:star::star-half::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-half::star-empty::star-empty:

Okay, so, thats a lot of disturbing movies. Want to know the one which really cause me to lose sleep?
Oh, god, am I really going to go through with this?

...YES. For the sake of good, classic books like this one, I must.
LETS GO, BITCHES.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame II

Now that Frollo is gone, Quasimodo rings the bell with the help of his new friend and Esmeralda's and Phoebus' little son, Zephyr. But when Quasi stops by a traveling circus owned by evil magician Sarousch, he falls for Madellaine, Sarouch's assistant. But greedy Sarousch forces Madellaine to help him steal the Cathedral's most famous bell.

My Rating

Give me a minute to silently cry.

As you know, I am a dedicated fan the the original novel Notre Dame di Paris, otherwise known as The Hunchback of Notre Dame.
Did I like the original Disney version? Of course. It was written well, with beautiful music, visuals, and probably some of the darkest Disney films I've ever seen, if not the darkest. It had everything I was looking for in a children's film, save for the singing gargoyles, and remained pretty true to the book, besides changing the ending. Then again, they're not going to show Quasi's bones falling to dust in a Disney film. That would be too sad.

This... I... I'm done with living.
This film not only contradicts everything in the previous film and book, but absolutely rapes the original characters, including Quasimodo, my personal favorite.
Even worse, every original actor from the original film made a return, save for Frollo's actor, since Frollo died in the movie, and Leverne's actress, who died in real life. They also got Jenifer Love Hewett, who I am praying steps on a lego after this movie, and Haley Joule Osmett, which is self-explanatory. Side note, Tom Hulce, what are you doing here? Your acting and vocals deserve more than this movie.
Also, this movie took five years. Why? If you say "animation", I will ring your neck. Mostly because it sucks
Follow-up, remember how dark the original was? Go online. Compare both film openings. See the difference?

I guess the music can be pretty, especially the orchestral score, and the acting is good, despite it being poorly written, but it's still shit, and being as dedicated as I am to the original book, it will always be shit. Victor Hugo must be rolling in his grave.

...Also, how in the tap-dancing fuck can Quasi carry Zephyr on his back/shoulder/neck? Kyphosis is caused by scoliosis or a fracture for the most part, so no matter how you look at it, whether he is carrying him on his shoulders, neck, back, head, whatever, he would be on the ground crying out in pain. I mean, that can't be good for his kyphosis... /shot for being incredibly nit-picky.

My Rating

:star::star::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-empty::star-half::star-empty::star-empty:

--

That's all for now, folks! Have a good day!
~Alice, Following-The-Rabbit (formerly Following-The-Rabbit)



Add a Comment:
 
:iconmidnight00kitten:
Midnight00Kitten Featured By Owner Jun 1, 2012
I am never going to get used to your new user name.
First world problems.
xD
Reply
:iconfollowing-the-rabbit:
Following-The-Rabbit Featured By Owner Jun 2, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Neither am I. xD
Reply
:iconmidnight00kitten:
Midnight00Kitten Featured By Owner Jun 2, 2012
Don't change your default.
That's the only thing I have. ;-;
Reply
:iconfollowing-the-rabbit:
Following-The-Rabbit Featured By Owner Jun 3, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Oh, you mean my avatar?
Reply
:iconmidnight00kitten:
Midnight00Kitten Featured By Owner Jun 5, 2012
Yes you hipster. xD
Reply
:iconfollowing-the-rabbit:
Following-The-Rabbit Featured By Owner Jun 6, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
I'm not a hipster. xD
I've just never heard anyone call it a default before (’• u •`)
Reply
:iconmidnight00kitten:
Midnight00Kitten Featured By Owner Jun 6, 2012
Honey, you have hipster undertones.
It's the fact that you corrected me using a different term.
Here, this is exactly what you did. [link]
Reply
:iconfollowing-the-rabbit:
Following-The-Rabbit Featured By Owner Jun 6, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, I REFUSE TO BECOME WHAT ANNOYS THE BATSHIT OUT OF MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.
Reply
(1 Reply)
:iconpink-gizzy:
pink-gizzy Featured By Owner Apr 17, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
Here is your ACEO of Adelheidis: [link]
I hope you like it. :)
Reply
:iconfollowing-the-rabbit:
Following-The-Rabbit Featured By Owner Apr 18, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Thank you, I love it so much ; ^ ;
So, what would you like me to draw for you? c:
Reply
Add a Comment: